Hill country fishing

Non-Trout pursuits

Moderators: LabRat, dlcole

Strykerdm

Hill country fishing

Post by Strykerdm » Thu Apr 04, 2013 12:57 pm

Hey all,
I'm a newbie to fly fishing and still learning so I was wondering if anybody had advice on good places to fish within driving distance of San Antonio. I've only tried the Guadalupe near rio raft but I heard that the fishing has been slow there lately. I've heard about canyon lake and other places that might have bass but I don't know if I can wade there. Any advice would be appreciated. Sorry if this should I in the Trout subforum.

Alex Argyros

Re: Hill country fishing

Post by Alex Argyros » Thu Apr 04, 2013 1:05 pm

Just do the obvious: scroll down the topics in this forum and you'll find a wealth of information about warm water fishing in the HIll Country.

Ron Mc

Post by Ron Mc » Thu Apr 04, 2013 2:23 pm

time to go exploring.
With the exception of a few county ordinances (and specific to county roads), you can park your car and get in the water at any bridge that is considered navigable water. That covers the Guadalupe pretty much up to its headwaters (you can't wade at Kerr WMA where the Guadalupe springs come out of the ground).
Is every bridge worth wading? Not necessarily. But planning a day of driving and exploring is a good thing to do.
The Guadalupe is just one river. The Medina, Cibolo Creek, head west to the Sabinal, the Frio, the Nueces. The Pedernales. Even Leon Creek.

all the best roads follow the river

you never know what you'll find

wow Alex, I had no idea there were posts back to '05 still on this forum.
Last edited by Ron Mc on Fri Apr 05, 2013 7:52 am, edited 1 time in total.
Ron Mc

LabRat

Post by LabRat » Thu Apr 04, 2013 3:26 pm

Suggest picking up a copy of Fly Fishing the Hill Country. Loads of rivers and places to explore.
Mark Dillow

dmoczygemba1

Post by dmoczygemba1 » Thu Apr 04, 2013 4:43 pm